The new chairman of the legislative council: Gutha Sukhender Reddy

 Telangana | Written by : Suryaa Desk Updated: Mon, Sep 09, 2019, 01:31 PM

Hyderabad: Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao nominated recently-elected MLC Gutta Sukhender Reddy as Chairman of the Legislative Council, after he was denied a ministerial berth earlier in the day.

Mr Reddy, a three-time former MP, will file his papers for the on Monday.

It is likely that he will be elected unopposed given the overwhelming majority of the TRS in the Council.

It is learnt that Mr Rao could not accommodate Mr Reddy in the Cabinet in view of the representation given to different groups.

As of now there are six ministers from the Reddy community, four from the Velma community including the Chief Minister, one each from the SC, ST, minorities and Kamma communities and rest are from the Backward Classes.